Skip to content

78th Annual Golden Globe Awards Virtual

Golden Globe 2021, 78th Annual Golden Globe Awards Virtual

Golden Globe 2021from Laura Pausini’s triumph to Jane Fonda, here are all the awards. Chloé Zhao’s historic victory as best female director since 1983. The winners “Nomadland”, “Minari”, “The Crown”, “Borat Subsequent Movie Film”

78th Golden Globe Awards, the HFPA’s first-ever bicoastal and virtual show, was hosted by the dynamic duo of Tina Fey and Amy Poehler. Fey emceed live from the Rockefeller Center’s Rainbow Room in New York City, while Poehler hosted from the Globes’ usual location inside the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, California.

The British royal family crashed Hollywood’s biggest night for television and film. “The Crown” took home the Golden Globe for best TV drama, in addition to giving leads Emma Corrin and Josh O’Connor, who play Princess Diana and Prince Charles, their first Globes. “The Crown’s” Gillian Anderson also won for supporting actress in a TV series.

The streamer behind the hit series, Netflix, which commanded the competition with 42 nominations and 10 wins, also landed a pair of nods with chess-prodigy drama “The Queen’s Gambit,” which was named best limited series and earned its star Anya Taylor-Joy the actress in a limited series prize.

The telecast was dominated by streaming services. Amazon’s “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm” nabbed the best motion picture comedy or musical prize and Sacha Baron Cohen took home the acting trophy for his title role in the film.In a historic night, “Nomadland” scored best motion picture drama, making history for its director and producer Chloé Zhao. She became only the second woman and first woman of color to win best director. Other big winners include Andra Day for actress in a movie drama for “The United States vs. Billie Holiday” and Chadwick Boseman for actor in the same category for “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.” “Schitt’s Creek” was named best TV comedy and gave star Catherine O’Hara a victory as well. Daniel Kaluuya, John Boyega, Jodie Foster, Rosamund Pike, Jason Sudeikis and Mark Ruffalo also took home acting trophies. Photo Courtsey ©2021 HFPA

Photo Courtsey ©2021 HFPA

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: